Centre declares 18 people as terrorists under UAPA including Hizbul chief Salahuddin

Written by Deeptiman Tiwary
| New Delhi |

Updated: October 27, 2020 5:13:46 pm

Syed Salahuddin, supreme commander of Hizbul Mujahideen (AP Photo)

The Centre has designated 18 key operatives and leaders of groups such Lashkar e Taiba (LeT), Hizb Ul Mujahideen (HuM), Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), Indian Mujahideen and members of Dawood Ibrahim gang as individual terrorists under the recently amended Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA).

Those in the list include key 26/11 conspirators Sajid Mir and Yusuf Muzammil alias Muzammil Butt; IC 814 case accused and JeM leaders Ibrahim Athar and Yusuf Azhar; JeM chief Masood Azhar’s brother Rauf Asghar, who is key conspirator in Parliament Attack, Pathankot Airbase attack and the Pulwama CRPF convoy attack cases; Indian Mujahideen founders Riyaz and Iqbal Bhatkal; HuM chief Syed Salauddin and Dawood’s close aides Chhota Shakeel and Anees Shaikh apart from 1993 blasts accused Tiger Memon among others. All these are said to be in Pakistan currently.

“Reinforcing the commitment of strengthening national security and its policy of zero tolerance to terrorism, the Modi Government today has declared… eighteen more individuals as designated terrorists, under the provisions of the UAPA Act 1967 (as amended in 2019) and included their names in the Fourth…

Continue Reading This Article At The Indian Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here