3 Shaurya Chakras awarded to Armymen for J&K operations

By: Express News Service | New Delhi |

Published: August 15, 2020 4:05:02 am

(From left) Havildar Alok Kumar Dubey, Lt Col Krishan Singh Rawat, Major Anil Urs

All three Shaurya Chakras awarded to Indian Army personnel this year are related to counter-insurgency and counter-terrorism operations in Jammu and Kashmir.

The Kirti Chakra has been awarded posthumously to Abdul Rashid Kalas, Head Constable, Jammu and Kashmir Police.

Recipients of the Shaurya Chakra—the third highest peacetime gallantry award—from the Army include Havildar Alok Kumar Dubey of Rajputana Regiment, Major Anil Urs of Maratha Light Infantry and Lieutenant Colonel Krishan Singh Rawat of the Special Forces.

Wing Commander Vishak Nair, Flying (Pilot), is the Shaurya Chakra recipient from the Air Force.

On the eve of Independence Day, President Ram Nath Kovind approved gallantry awards for defence personnel. Apart from the four Shaurya Chakras, the awards for the Army, Navy and Air Force personnel include five Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 60 Sena Medals (Gallantry), four Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry) and five Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry).

Nineteen Mention-in-Despatches to Army Personnel will also be awarded “for their significant contributions in different military operations which include eight posthumous for ‘Operation…

Continue Reading This Article At The Indian Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here