Lokpal is in: President Kovind appoints chief, 8 members

Retired Supreme Court judge Pinaki Chandra Ghose is India’s first Lokpal. (Source: Supreme Court website)

The first Lokpal, the national anti-corruption ombudsman, has been officially set up with President Ram Nath Kovind Tuesday appointing former Supreme Court judge Justice P C Ghose as its chairperson, and eight members, including an equal number of judicial and non-judicial names.

The Indian Express had reported Monday that Justice (retired) Ghose was all set to be appointed the Lokpal chairperson. According to an official communique, the four judicial members appointed by the President are former Allahabad High Court Chief Justice Dilip Babasaheb Bhosale, former Jharkhand High Court Chief Justice Pradip Kumar Mohanty, former Manipur High Court Chief Justice Abhilasha Kumari and current Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi.

The non-judicial members are Maharashtra Chief Secretary Dinesh Kumar Jain, retired IPS officer and ex-DG of Sashastra Seema Bal Archana Ramasundaram, retired IRS official Mahender Singh and retired IAS officer I P Gautam, who is currently the full time managing director of Gujarat Metro Rail Corporation (GMRC) Limited.

Justice Ghose was appointed judge of the Supreme Court in March 2013 and retired in May 2017. He is currently a member of the National Human Rights Commission. The names were cleared by the Lokpal Selection Committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi last week.

The Lokpal…

Continue Reading This Article At The Indian Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here