Rideau Hall

Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada David Johnston presided over an Order of Military Merit investiture ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Friday, June 3, 2016. The Governor General bestowed the honour on three Commanders, twelve Officers and forty Members.

Among the recipients were several members of the Royal Canadian Air Force, including the commander of the RCAF, Lieutenant-General Mike Hood.

“All of you share at least one thing in common,” said Governor General Johnston during the investiture ceremony. “You have all answered the call to service. And you have done so with extraordinary skill and dedication.

“Wherever you go, you defend our fundamental values, such as tolerance, diversity, fairness and equality. You represent our country with professionalism, leadership and courage. You inspire others to achieve greatness in all that they do.”

Created in 1972, the Order of Military Merit recognizes meritorious service and devotion to duty by members of the Canadian Armed Forces. The Order honours them for their commitment to Canada, according to the following three levels of membership: Commander (C.M.M.), Officer (O.M.M.) and Member (M.M.M.).

Order of Military Merit Recipients


Lieutenant-General Michael John Hood, C.M.M., C.D., Chief of the Air Force Staff, Ottawa, Ontario

 Rear-Admiral John Frederick Newton, C.M.M., M.S.M., C.D., Maritime Forces Atlantic Headquarters, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Lieutenant-General Christine Theresa Whitecross,…

Read More At Source…